Recent Posts

Special Election Coming soon to HD19A in South Central Minnesota

by JacobGrippen on December 21, 2012

Representative Terry Morrow (DFL – St. Peter) has announced that he will resign his house seat effective January 7th, the day before the 2013 Legislative Session starts. Morrow is leaving his position in the House as well as his position as a professor at Gusatvus Adolphus College to take a job as Legislative Director with the Uniform Law Commission in Chicago.

Morrow was unopposed in 2012, the first time that the MN GOP failed to recruit a candidate for Nicollett County. House District 19A consists of all of Nicollet County, as well as precincts in Blue Earth County and Le Sueuer County. Map (PDF) here:…

Cities in the district include North Mankato and St. Peter, the home of Gustavus Adolphus College (which will be vital to the turn out in this special election).

As to when the election will be called, the Mankato Free Press notes:

Under Minnesota law, Gov. Mark Dayton can set the date of the special election as soon as he’s aware of an impending legislative vacancy. He doesn’t have to wait until the seat is officially vacant, said Patricia Turgeon of the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office.

Dayton could set the date as late as mid-February or as soon as mid-January. If Dayton wants to see the seat filled quickly, the only delay required by law is a minimum two-week gap between a primary election and the general election.

We’ll have to wait and see when the special election is called, but the search is on for Morrow’s replacement.

And, unlike in 2012, the GOP won’t be sitting this one out. According to a MPR report: http://minnesota.publicradio.o…

Rep. Jenifer Loon, R-Eden Prairie, oversees the campaign activity of the House GOP caucus. Loon said the search is underway.

“I don’t know when those decisions will be made,” Loon said. “But consideration is being given, and I would expect we will have at least a candidate, if not multiple candidates, interested in running.”

SD19 DFL Chair Karen Foreman is optimistic about this district staying in DFL hands, and she has good reason to be. The district has a DPI of 55 and President Obama won the district 52-44 in 2012.

The other half of Senate District 19 is House District 19B which is Mankato, a seat currently held by Kathy Brynaert (DFL).

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: